RYLA D3300 2012 =D

24 Dec

On 18th-21th of December, which are a few days ago, i have went to the RYLA camp, Rotary Youth Leadership Award. I would say, it was a great time with the whole bunch of new friends.

Initially, when Jimmy was telling about RYLA during RAC Subang’s meeting, I felt interested to join especially when they said that it would be a great experience. I knew for the fact that I will be having holidays, therefore i have made my mind to participate. I was the only one from RAC Subang because all of them are working and it’s hard for them to take 4 days of leave consecutively.

First day, I went to One World Hotel to gather with them for the bus ride. I saw a lot of strangers, I was thinking how would it be for the 4 days with these bunch of people. They seemed to be excited about it, I knew they were. The registration in the morning was a bit messy, but I still managed to get up to Bus A and sat beside Farella. Yea, she was the first friend that I knew from RYLA. A 17 years old girl, super active and nice, but still a little girl haha.

Throughout the four days, we went through a lot of activities and talks. I was in the Cobra team, with a group of 14 people, led by facilitators Shelby and Mr Siow a.k.a Mios XD Most of my group members were quiet and seldom gave ideas on the first day, our team spirit was not that high. But guess what, as time went by, we got along very well and we appeared to be the champion for Market Place session and Second for the Talent Night =P Do not underestimate the hidden talent and power in COBRA hahahaha!

I do admit that for some moments I did feel a bit regret of participating in the camp. It was not because of their sessions were not good, but it was due to I have joint so many camps and I have experienced a lot of things that they planned for us. Another thing was because the age gap among the participants was a bit too big, ranging from 14 to 25/26. It has created some form of generation gap among some groups. But at the end of the day, I did feel glad that I was there being with the great organizers, great speakers, great facilitators, great friends and of course the super awesome team. I might have went through a lot of them in my past camping experience, but it was a whole new mark in my life to be with RYLA-ians who are different from others.

The session that I would treasure the most will be the one conducted by Mr Sunil, one that reminded us how great our parents are. I went through the same session during PETRONAS STE camp, the difference was for this time, I have made my first step to stand up and share my story. It was my first time to share the story during STE and I cried, I have made the rest cried too. When Sunil was asking for the last volunteer, I raised my hand and went up to share. The story touched their heart. I used to be one who seldom share my thoughts and stories with others. At first, I doubted my own decision too. It really required my courage to stand in front of 150 people and share the story. I told myself that I must not cry as I was here to inspire people, to remind them, to feel grateful that I have my parents and to thank them, but not to feel sorry towards my parents anymore. All that I can do now is to do whatever I can for them and I will share the story out, share the fact that our parents use their LIVES to LOVE us =)

Well, the fun filled outdoor activities made this camp complete. We went for jungle trekking, flying fox, high rope, kayaking and obstacle training. It was my first time to kayak and the obstacle training was the one that people did during PLKN. As for the jungle trekking, we climbed to the top and the scenery was really really beautiful. I could not stop myself from falling in love with the view. See this!

FxCam_1355911221039

Besides, we went for a community service at an old folks home too. Though it was not my first time to actually care about the old folks and clean the surroundings instead of just giving money, but this trip has reminded me of a lot of unfulfilled promise. I know very well that to take good care of an old folks home, an orphanage and a disabled children home do require a lot of commitment. During projects that I have done, I went to all these places and  they always told us to come back. Things that I have promised to them and to myself, I did not do it as I failed to give in my full commitment. I am very sorry to them. But one thing that I am sure is, I will contribute as much as I can especially when I have my own business in the future, that will be something which benefit them as well as the society.

Last but not least, I want to share with you guys the picture of the organizing chairperson, President E Teck. He looks like Najib, doesnt he? =P

FxCam_1356069597350

Of course I also want to thank to my great team, Cobra. They are really awesome and together we made a great team! I ❤ Cobra!

382856_10151368247265797_414473685_n

154760_523017717716906_585406669_n

❤ Cobra

❤ RYLA 🙂

Leave a comment